Baltic Basket · method

How we work · Back to the figures

How we work out Where this sits in its own history

Everything on this page is generated from the module itself, so it cannot say one thing here and another on the front page.

Built from the data file published on 2026-10-18 00:40 UTC.

What this measures

This describes what has already happened. It is not a view of what comes next.

This is an index, not a price. It is set to 2025-03-04 = 100, and it deliberately carries no currency sign — it can tell you how fast something moved, never what it costs.

One figure stands for the whole country.

The figure on the front page is: District heating, national average.

The figure on the front page is: 11-item basket.

The figure on the front page is: Exchange price now.

  • These windows differ in length, so the moves cannot be ranked against each other.

What it does not measure

  • An index describes movement, not level. It cannot answer "how much is it?" — only "how much did it change?".

Where the numbers come from

Eurostat HICP monthly (prc_hicp_minr, coicop18 CP0441 water / CP0442 refuse / CP0443 sewerage / CP0444 other dwelling services) — INDEX, not a price — via module communalec.europa.euOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-05 13:02 UTC · Source published 2026-10-02 · CC-BY-4.0 (European Commission reuse policy)
Central Statistical Bureau of Latvia, PCC010m average retail prices (water 10 m3, sewage 10 m3, refuse 1 m3), monthly, VAT included — via module communaldata.stat.gov.lvOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-05 13:02 UTC · Source published 2026-09-08 · not verified: the stat.gov.lv terms page could not be retrieved by fetch (JS-rendered); the data.gov.lv registry lists CSB datasets as CC0 1.0
Central Statistical Bureau of Latvia, PCI021m consumer price index, ECOICOP 04.4.4.1 charges for maintenance of multi-occupied buildings — INDEX, not a price — via module communaldata.stat.gov.lvOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-05 13:02 UTC · Source published 2026-09-08 · not verified: the stat.gov.lv terms page could not be retrieved by fetch (JS-rendered); the data.gov.lv registry lists CSB datasets as CC0 1.0
Konkurentsiamet (Estonian Competition Authority) — national register of approved water and sewerage prices, one PDF with an as-of date, prices excluding VAT — via module communalkonkurentsiamet.eeOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-05 13:02 UTC · Source published 2026-09-21 · public register of a state authority
Konkurentsiamet water tariff register — 15 earlier editions of the same PDF (2019-12-20 to 2026-02-10), read from copies kept by the Internet Archive (web.archive.org); each edition is dated by what it states itself, prices excluding VAT — via module communalweb.archive.orgSecondary source · We read it 2026-10-05 13:02 UTC · Source published 2026-02-10 · archived copies of a public register of a state authority
Eesti Vee-ettevotete Liit (EVEL, the Estonian water utilities association) — its annual member survey 'VEEHINNA ANKEEDID KOOND', one XLSX per year: household water and sewerage prices per member undertaking, BOTH excluding and including VAT as published; an association's members, not the regulator's full register — via module communalevel.eeSecondary source · We read it 2026-10-05 13:02 UTC · Source published 2025-12-31 · not stated — permission requested
SIA Rīgas ūdens — the utility's own published tariff page (tariff set by SPRK decision); one named utility, not a national statistic — via module communalrigasudens.lvBackground source · We read it 2026-10-05 13:02 UTC · Source published 2025-12-01 · published tariff on the utility's own site; robots.txt permits this agent (checked 2026-09-03)
Register of Legal Acts of Lithuania (TAR), republished as open data — VERT decisions setting water and wastewater base prices, full act text, prices excluding VAT — via module communaldata.gov.ltOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-05 13:02 UTC · Source published 2026-07-25 · open data, get.data.gov.lt permits automated access
Elering live API (Nord Pool spot) — via module electricitydashboard.elering.eeOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 06:10 UTC
energy-charts.info (Fraunhofer ISE) — flows and generation — via module electricityapi.energy-charts.infoOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 06:10 UTC · CC BY 4.0 (public_power, cbpf); /price endpoint excluded: private and internal use only
Elektrilevi network service price list, in force from 2026-06-01 (prices approved by Konkurentsiamet, decision 7-3/2026-028); also republishes the Estonian state charges and excise — via module electricitypublic-docs.elektrilevi.eeSecondary source
Elering balancing capacity charge (tasakaalustamisvoimsuse tasu): 3.73 EUR/MWh for 2026, 2.97 EUR/MWh from 2027-01-01 — via module electricityelering.eeOfficial source
AS Sadales tikls differentiated distribution tariffs, in force from 2024-01-01, set by the operator under SPRK 2022-11-28 Nr. 1/41 (tariff calculation methodology) — via module electricitysadalestikls.lvSecondary source
Eurostat electricity prices for household consumers (nrg_pc_204), EUR/kWh — via module electricityec.europa.euOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-16 16:56 UTC · Source published 2026-10-13
Eurostat electricity price components for household consumers (nrg_pc_204_c) — via module electricityec.europa.euOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-16 16:56 UTC · Source published 2026-10-07
ESO public (last-resort) supply price history by month, components A-D — via module electricityeso.ltOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-16 21:10 UTC
Eurostat nrg_pc_204_h — Electricity prices for domestic consumers - bi-annual data (until 2007); band 4161150 (Households - Dc (annual consumption: 3 500 kWh of which night 1 300)), all taxes and levies included. A DISCONTINUED table: it prices a fixed standard consumer, not the consumption band the household layer prices, and it is never joined to it — via module electricityec.europa.euOfficial source · We read it 2026-09-27 09:56 UTC · Source published 2024-01-03 · CC-BY-4.0 (European Commission reuse policy)
EU Weekly Oil Bulletin — via module fuelenergy.ec.europa.euOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 06:11 UTC · Source published 2026-10-12 · CC-BY-4.0 (European Commission reuse policy)
Lietuvos energetikos agentūra — degalų kainos — via module fueldegalukainos.ena.ltOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 06:11 UTC · Source published 2026-10-16 · no explicit open licence stated (ena.lt footer: Visos teisės saugomos)
Circle K Latvia — published fuel prices — via module fuelcirclek.lvSecondary source · We read it 2026-10-17 06:11 UTC · Source published 2026-10-15
Virši — published fuel prices — via module fuelvirsi.lvSecondary source · We read it 2026-10-17 06:11 UTC · Source published 2026-10-15
data.gov.lv — Komersantu ziņotās vidējās degvielas cenas — via module fueldata.gov.lvOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 06:11 UTC · Source published 2026-10-12 · CC0-1.0
Statistics Latvia PCC010m — average retail price of Diesel, 10 l, monthly, VAT included (independent of the EU bulletin) — via module fueldata.stat.gov.lvOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 06:11 UTC · Source published 2026-10-08 · CC0-1.0 (data.gov.lv mirror record 'osp', verified 2026-10-17)
Statistics Estonia — Prices (majandus/hinnad): price indices only, no average retail fuel price — via module fuelandmed.stat.eeOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 06:11 UTC · Statistics Estonia's open data can be shared under Creative Commons (CC) licence BY-SA 4.0 (andmed.stat.ee page footer, identical on every table page; not a per-table statement)
Eurostat gas prices for household consumers (nrg_pc_202), band D2, EUR/kWh — via module gasec.europa.euOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:32 UTC · Source published 2026-10-16 · CC-BY-4.0 (European Commission reuse policy)
Eurostat HICP monthly (prc_hicp_minr, CP04522 liquefied hydrocarbons = bottled LPG) — INDEX, not a price — via module gasec.europa.euOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:32 UTC · Source published 2026-10-16 · CC-BY-4.0 (European Commission reuse policy)
Eurostat HICP monthly (prc_hicp_minr, CP04521 natural gas through networks) — INDEX, not a price — via module gasec.europa.euOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:32 UTC · Source published 2026-10-16 · CC-BY-4.0 (European Commission reuse policy)
LPG (SIA Latvijas propāna gāze) — the seller's own published cylinder pricelist (LV), EUR per cylinder; one named seller, not a national statistic — via module gaslpg.lvBackground source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:32 UTC · published pricelist on the seller's own site; robots.txt permits this agent (checked 2026-09-03)
Intergaz SIA — the seller's own published cylinder pricelist (LV), EUR per cylinder; one named seller, not a national statistic — via module gasintergaz.lvBackground source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:32 UTC · published pricelist on the seller's own site; robots.txt permits this agent (checked 2026-09-03)
Alexela — the seller's own published cylinder pricelist (EE), EUR per cylinder; one named seller, not a national statistic — via module gasalexela.eeBackground source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:32 UTC · published pricelist on the seller's own site; robots.txt permits this agent (checked 2026-09-03)
Olerex (AS Propaan) — the seller's own published cylinder pricelist (EE), EUR per cylinder; one named seller, not a national statistic — via module gasolerex.eeBackground source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:32 UTC · published pricelist on the seller's own site; robots.txt permits this agent (checked 2026-09-03)
Statistics Estonia KE32 — gas price for households' end-user by consumption, band D2, EUR/GJ, without VAT; the national compiler's own publication of the figure it reports to Eurostat, not an independent measurement — via module gasandmed.stat.eeOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:32 UTC · CC BY-SA 4.0 (Statistics Estonia: "Statistics Estonia's open data can be shared under Creative Commons (CC) licence BY-SA 4.0")
Central Statistical Bureau of Latvia ENC020 — gas prices for household consumers, band D2, EUR/GJ, all three tax bases; compiled under Regulation (EU) 2016/1952 and reported to Eurostat, so it is the same compiler, not a second measurement — via module gasdata.stat.gov.lvOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:32 UTC · Source published 2026-04-24 · CC BY 4.0 (Central Statistical Bureau of Latvia)
Eurostat nrg_pc_202_h — Gas prices for domestic consumers - bi-annual data (until 2007); band 4141150 (Households - D3 (annual consumption: 83.70 GJ)), all taxes and levies included, EUR per gigajoule. A DISCONTINUED table: it prices a fixed standard consumer, not the consumption band the headline series prices, and it is never joined to it — via module gasec.europa.euOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:32 UTC · Source published 2024-01-03 · CC-BY-4.0 (European Commission reuse policy)
Eurostat HICP — monthly indices and rates of change (prc_hicp_minr) — via module groceriesec.europa.euOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:18 UTC · Source published 2026-10-16 · CC-BY-4.0
Eurostat HICP — monthly data, index (prc_hicp_midx; ECOICOP v1, discontinued and frozen at December 2025) — read only to check the live series against it, never joined to it — via module groceriesec.europa.euOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:18 UTC · Source published 2025-12-31 · CC-BY-4.0
Official Statistics Portal of Latvia — average retail prices of goods (PCC010m) — via module groceriesdata.stat.gov.lvOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:18 UTC · Source published 2026-10-08 · CC-BY-4.0
State Data Agency of Lithuania — average monthly retail prices of the most popular products (S7R244; flows S7R244_M2021135_1, S7R244_M2021135, S7R244_M2021133) — via module groceriesosp-rs.stat.gov.ltOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:18 UTC · CC-BY-4.0
Maaelu Teadmuskeskus (METK) — average retail prices of food products in Estonian shops (monthly, EUR incl. VAT; average across the e-shops of Coop, Selver, Rimi and Prisma) — via module groceriesmetk.agri.eeOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:18 UTC · Source published 2026-10-07 · Attribution required (source must be cited)
Estonian Institute of Economic Research (EKI) — average retail food prices 2016-2025 (collection moved to METK in 2026) — via module grocerieski.eeOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:18 UTC · Attribution required (source must be cited)
Statistics Estonia — consumer price statistics (indices only; CPI metadata: from 2026 built on retail chains' sales data, which the Official Statistics Act SS 32/34/35/38 bars from publication) — via module groceriesstat.eeOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:18 UTC · CC-BY-4.0
Statistics Latvia PCC010m — average retail price of heat energy, EUR per MWh, monthly, VAT included — via module heatingdata.stat.gov.lvOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:25 UTC · Source published 2026-10-08 · not verified: the stat.gov.lv terms page could not be retrieved by fetch (JS-rendered); the data.gov.lv registry lists CSB datasets as CC0 1.0
Public Utilities Commission of Latvia — approved district-heating tariff by network area, EUR per MWh, excluding VAT (the regulator's own tariff map, served from infogram.com) — via module heatinginfogram.comOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:25 UTC · Source published 2026-10-15 · Public Utilities Commission of Latvia, regulatory decisions
Latvijas Vestnesis — full text of each tariff decision; used to tell a fixed approved tariff from one indexed to the monthly gas price — via module heatingvestnesis.lvOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:25 UTC · Official publisher of the Republic of Latvia
Estonian Competition Authority — approved maximum heat prices for end consumers by network area, EUR per MWh, excluding VAT (this week's file; earlier register dates are under ee_konkurentsiamet_caps_archive) — via module heatingkonkurentsiamet.eeOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:25 UTC · Source published 2026-10-15 · Estonian Competition Authority public register
Estonian Competition Authority — the same approved-maximum register as dated PDF files it published 2020-2023, delivered by the Internet Archive (web.archive.org); one dated copy per point, listed below — via module heatingweb.archive.orgOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:25 UTC · Source published 2023-11-20 · Estonian Competition Authority public register; archived copy
Eurostat HICP monthly (prc_hicp_minr, CP0455 heat energy) — an index, not a price — via module heatingec.europa.euOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:25 UTC · Source published 2026-10-16 · CC-BY-4.0 (European Commission reuse policy)
Public Utilities Commission of Latvia — register of regulated services (via data.gov.lv); counts suppliers, carries no tariffs — via module heatingdata.gov.lvOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:25 UTC · CC0 1.0 (data.gov.lv)
Statistics Estonia KE08 — average cost of heat consumed by ENTERPRISES, EUR per MWh, annual, excluding VAT (not a household price) — via module heatingandmed.stat.eeOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:25 UTC · CC BY-SA 4.0 (Statistics Estonia, stated on each table page)
Estonian Competition Authority — review of price regulation outcomes (June 2025), table 3: mean approved heat price CAP of ten network areas, EUR per MWh, annual 2005-2023, excluding VAT — via module heatingkonkurentsiamet.eeOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:25 UTC · Source published 2025-06 · Estonian Competition Authority public report
Utilitas — the supplier's own price page: for each of its network areas BOTH the approved ceiling (piirhind) and the price actually charged for the month (müügihind), EUR per MWh, VAT included (+km) as published — via module heatingutilitas.eeOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:25 UTC · Source published 2026-08-31 · not stated — permission requested
AB Kauno energija — the supplier's own monthly regulated heat price for households (Kaunas city and district, Jurbarkas), ct/kWh with and without VAT as published; one supplier, not Lithuania — via module heatingkaunoenergija.ltOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:25 UTC · Source published 2026-10-01 · AB Kauno energija public tariff notice
Lietuvos silumos tiekeju asociacija (LSTA) — the association's own spreadsheet of EVERY member supplier's monthly heat price, ct/kWh with VAT and the VAT amount beside it; Vilnius and Klaipeda included. A compilation of the regulator-approved prices, not an independent measurement, and it ends at 2023-10 — via module heatinglsta.ltSecondary source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:25 UTC · Source published 2023-10-31 · not stated — permission requested
Eurostat HICP monthly (prc_hicp_minr, CP041 actual rentals for housing) — via module rentec.europa.euOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:46 UTC · Source published 2026-10-16 · CC-BY-4.0 (European Commission reuse policy)
Eurostat House Price Index (prc_hpi_q) — PURCHASE, not rent — via module rentec.europa.euOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:46 UTC · Source published 2026-10-01 · CC-BY-4.0 (European Commission reuse policy)
Statistics Lithuania S7R281_M9070366 — average rent, EUR/m2 per year, cities — via module rentosp-rs.stat.gov.ltOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:46 UTC · Statistics Lithuania open data
Statistics Latvia PCI021m consumer price index, ECOICOP ver.2 04.1 (Actual rentals for housing), annual rate of change — INDEX, not a price, and the same office that compiles Latvia's HICP — via module rentdata.stat.gov.lvOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:46 UTC · Source published 2026-10-08 · CC0-1.0 (data.gov.lv mirror record 'osp', verified 2026-10-17)
Baltpool Index API — Baltic biomass exchange, cleared SPOT indices — via module woodfuelbaltpool.euOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:54 UTC · Source published 2026-10-13 · public endpoint, free of charge (Baltpool API terms)
Eurostat HICP monthly (prc_hicp_minr, CP0454 solid fuels) — via module woodfuelec.europa.euOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:54 UTC · Source published 2026-10-16 · CC-BY-4.0 (European Commission reuse policy)
Statistics Latvia ENC010 — average price of energy resources for final consumers excluding VAT, item 'Wood chips, EUR/m3 loose', annual; what buyers paid, not an exchange index; published to whole euros — via module woodfueldata.stat.gov.lvOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:54 UTC · Source published 2026-08-26 · not verified: the stat.gov.lv terms page could not be retrieved by fetch (JS-rendered); the data.gov.lv registry lists CSB datasets as CC0 1.0
Statistics Estonia KE08 — average cost of fuels consumed by ENTERPRISES, items 'Puiduhake, m3' (wood chips) and 'Kuttepuud, tm' (fuelwood, solid cubic metre), annual, excluding VAT; enterprises, not households — via module woodfuelandmed.stat.eeOfficial source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:54 UTC · CC BY-SA 4.0 (Statistics Estonia, stated on each table page)
Latvijas valsts mezi (LVM) roundwood price statistics — firewood, EUR per solid m3 — via module woodfuellvm.lvSecondary source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:54 UTC · published by LVM (state forest company)
Riigimetsa Majandamise Keskus (RMK) — Estonian state forest management centre — via module woodfuelrmk.eeBackground source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:54 UTC · Source published 2026-10-17 · seller's own published price list
Graanul Invest e-parduotuvė (granules24.lt) — via module woodfuelgranules24.ltBackground source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:54 UTC · Source published 2026-10-17 · seller's own published price list
SIA "Kurzemes granulas" (granulas.lv), Ventspils — via module woodfuelgranulas.lvBackground source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:54 UTC · Source published 2026-09-16 · seller's own published price list
Būvniecības ABC (SIA "Optimera Latvia"), buvniecibas-abc.lv — via module woodfuelbuvniecibas-abc.lvBackground source · We read it 2026-10-17 05:54 UTC · Source published 2026-10-17 · seller's own published price list
What the kinds of source mean
  • Official — a statistics office, a regulator, or the exchange where the price was actually set.
  • Secondary — published by a company. Useful, named, but not official statistics.
  • Background — used for context only, never for a headline figure.

How often it arrives, and what we do when it is late

The source publishes every day.

A fresh figure is normally about 7 day(s) old when it reaches us, because statistics describe a period that has already ended.

The figure now on the site describes 2026-10-15 and is 3 day(s) old.

Past twice that age the module is marked as old automatically. It cannot mark itself as fresh — we compute the age from the date the data describes.

If a fetch fails, the last good figure stays up with its original date, the module is marked as not updated, and it visibly ages until the source publishes again. An old number never gets today's date.

We last ran this module at 2026-10-17 06:12 UTC.

Taxes

This is an index, so no tax rate applies to it. The tax is inside the prices the index is built from, and moves with them.

Units and conversions

No history is published for this module yet, so there is nothing to plot.

Country by country

CountryCoverageWhy
LatviaCovered—
LithuaniaCovered—
EstoniaCovered—

What this figure cannot tell you

  • The countries measure different things, so they are not compared here.
  • One country prices a stated fat content and the other prices the category without stating one, so the two figures are not the same product.
  • Some basket items match in quantity but not in specification, so the totals are compared and a like-for-like subtotal without those items is published alongside.
  • Not enough history yet to say where this sits.
  • Too few consecutive readings to say how big a typical step is.
  • Published too rarely within a year to show a seasonal pattern.
  • No reading close enough to a year ago to measure against.
  • More than one reading in four is a declared gap, so no window statistic is computed over this history.
  • This series is already a year-on-year change, so it has no seasonal pattern of its own.
  • Not enough full years yet to show a seasonal profile.
  • The latest reading follows a gap, so no run can be counted.
  • This series begins after the shared base date, so it cannot be set to 100 on that date with the others.

What the module itself flags

  • Computed from the other modules' published figures; nothing new was collected.
  • A position in history needs at least 24 readings spanning at least 730 days. Where there are fewer, we say so instead of showing a number.
  • Seasonal comparisons use the same month, week or half-year, never a different one.
  • Missing periods stay missing. Nothing here is filled in.
  • This compares how much each cost has changed, not how much each cost is.
  • No single combined index: that would need published household consumption weights.
  • These two moved together. That is all it says — neither one explains the other.
  • 80 signals across all figures were not computed. Each one says why.
  • Each of the 13 signals either carries its window and its count, or names why it was refused. A step statistic needs 24 steps over 730 days; a seasonal profile needs 5 full years.
  • No combined figure: that would need published consumption weights.

The data itself

The same figures, machine-readable:

Everything the front page draws from, in one file:

Where this module stands right now

ok

Up to date.

2026-10-15 · 3 d · 2026-10-17 06:12 UTC